As I mentioned in my last post, part of my criteria in choosing what to read is based on my vanity. To that end, I look to what others view as quality reading, and from that, I gather lists. I don’t have a list that I created myself. There is not even a very good list like that in my head. But I do have a notebook full of lists that I have gathered off of the Internet.

When I first got into reading science fiction literature as opposed to novelizations of movies and TV shows, I looked online for some reading lists of what would be consdered classic or the best SciFi. My first list was the Top 200 Sci-Fi Books List by Peter Sykes. So far, I’ve read 64 books from this list. Now that I think of it, I recently finished Slaughterhouse Five. I need to knock that off the list. That brings my total to 65. I like this list because it takes into account other lists and awards as well as an online reader poll.

I also have list of the Hugo and Nebula award nominees and winners for best novel. I found these on Wikipedia. The Hugo Awards is based on fan recognition. It’s like the People’s Choice Awards. The Nebula is given by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. It’s more like the Academy Awards.

Last year, I made an effort to read all of the Hugo nominees before the awards were given. I got through five of the six. The last book, Palimpsest, was too stylistic, and it never really attracted me. So far this year, I’ve only read one Hugo nominee. I don’t know if I have lost interest in it or not, but this years reading project has been focused mostly on my next list: Shakespeare’s Plays.

This summer, I determined to watch, read, or listen to all of Shakespeare’s plays. I made it through 26 of the 38 before getting busy with other endeavors. It’s a shame too because the language was getting easier and easier, and I fear that when I do get back to it, I will have to re-acclimate to it. If you have never been able to get into a Shakespeare play, I would recommend watching Kenneth Brannagh’s Hamlet. If that doesn’t do it for you, Shakespeare is definitely not for you.

Do you have any book lists that you read from? If so, let me know by posting a response to this blog.

 

 

 

 

 

